Home > DEPARTMENTS > Science

Science

Vision

In line with MOE’s Science curriculum framework, we seek to
(1) enthuse and nurture all students to be scientifically literate, so that they are able to make informed decisions and take responsible actions in their daily lives, and 
(2) provide strong Science fundamentals for students to pursue STEM for future learning and work.


Mission

We use the BSCS 5E instructional model for teaching and learning of Science through inquiry.


Committee

Designation Staff Name Email
HOD / Science Mr Chew Zichun   chew_zichun@moe.edu.sg
Level Head / Science Mr Jason Tan tan_swee_chye_jason@moe.edu.sg
Teacher Ms Celia Chia chia_pin_cheng_celia@moe.edu.sg
  Mr Gary Lee lee_wee_kiong@moe.edu.sg 
  Mr Sebastian Tan tan_wei_lun_sebastian@moe.edu.sg
  Mrs Joan Chia
joan_tan_yi_hui@moe.edu.sg
  Mr Ken Tan tan_hoong_kee@moe.edu.sg
  Mdm Koh Choon Hia koh_choon_hia@moe.edu.sg
  Mr Chan Yong Hao chan_yong_hao@moe.edu.sg
  Ms Irene Lim
lim_tong_hwee_irene@moe.edu.sg        
  Ms Han Limin han_limin@moe.edu.sg


Progammes

 

Science Learning Journeys

P3, P4, P5 and P6
Learning Journeys help to extend the learning of Science beyond the classrooms. They help to provide authentic experiences of Science in the real world.
P3: Science Centre workshops on Insects and Animals
P4: Gardens by the Bay guided tour
P5: Science Centre workshops on Plant Reproduction
P6: Science Centre workshops on the Environment
 

Excellence 2000 (E2K) Science Programme

P4 and P5
The E2K Science Programme in New Town is an enrichment programme for P4 and P5 students who demonstrate interest and ability in Science. The programme engages students in scientific investigations involving advanced science concepts, and aims to engage students in scientific inquiry that will help them to develop the habits, attitudes and dispositions scientists possess as well as to gain important 21st century competencies such as critical and inventive thinking and effective communication skills.

Competitions & Olympiads

We participate in selected competitions and Olympiads in order to provide students with wider opportunities and exposure to platforms beyond the school for them to apply the Scientific skills and knowledge learnt in school in authentic contexts.

Programmes for 2020
Raffles Science Olympiad (RSO) @ Raffles Institution
Raffles Institution Liveable Cities Challenge
Singapore Primary Science Olympiad (SPSO) @ NUS High
National Environment Quiz @ Nan Hua High School
Singapore Amazing Flying Machine Competition (SAFMC)
Science Buskers Festival
ICAS Science
 

Resources


Educational Websites    
HowStuffWorks

Student Learning Space

Learning Resources
National Geographic Kids – Science Lab

Science – How the World Works

Science Teaching and Resource Kits

For Parents 
Science Syllabus

Exploring Science Outdoors with Your Child

 Places to Visit 
HortPark

Lee Kong Chian Natural History Museum

Singapore Science Centre

Singapore Science Centre – Omni-theatre

Sungei Buloh Wetland Reserve